Text in map?

Have any questions or problems in making your game, subscribing and/or using our software? Post here.
Forum rules
Make sure you are using the newest version. This can be downloaded at the top of the site via the "downloads" link.

Use a very good subject. "Problem" or "Help" are unacceptable titles.

Use the search feature before posting a question, as the answer is probably already here.

Subscript out of range error 9: This is a generic error, and we'll need way more information than that to figure out the problem. If you get this, strongly consider following the instructions of submitting your project through the Submit Bug feature within the editor.
zartan917

Text in map?

Postby zartan917 » Tue Dec 22, 2015 11:09 pm

Hi Im new to this very robust engine!!! Looks great. Im trying to add some text into different "levels"/maps but not sure a way to do it.
I dont want to turn each letter into a "tile" it would take to long.. could i somehow just type something over my art (like graffiti in the level,
not on a pop-up box) so the character can walk in front of the text(Im using 2d rpg example) Ill prolly have many more questions (freelance coder anyone?) ok thanks

Greybird025

Re: Text in map?

Postby Greybird025 » Wed Dec 23, 2015 6:20 am

So...You cant...You can just make 64x64 and cut it on 32x32...so 1st 32x32 will be A,and other will be B.
-First try it,then comment it....Lets Vampires be with You.

zartan917

Postby zartan917 » Wed Dec 23, 2015 11:29 am

ah thats what i thought- I *may* have to do the game in flash as its text heavy but i will explore gg maker for its cool 3d function! thanks!

SBG
001 Subscriber

Postby SBG » Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:44 pm

Just make an image that is only text and import it as a sprite. Easy peasy.

zartan917

Postby zartan917 » Thu Dec 24, 2015 1:30 am

hmm! Im looking into options like make the big picture in another software and try to import it as one big pic