Xbox 360?

General discussion relating to everything except 001.
Forum rules
Please do not post questions concerning the 001 software in this forum.
User avatar
2cool4me4
001 Subscriber
 
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 2:08 pm

Xbox 360?

Postby 2cool4me4 » Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:32 pm

This is now officially THE topic for Xbox 360 discussion!


This morning I was bored, so I searched for what the red light of death was on the internet (pardon my stupidity) and found a person who has had 12 Xbox 360's. All of them broke, except for the one that he has now. Are they still this problematic? I was thinking of getting one, but the fact that you have to BUY Xbox live made me think otherwise... discuss?
Last edited by 2cool4me4 on Wed Oct 27, 2010 7:40 am, edited 3 times in total.
Once you have mastered the :usevalue:, you are a truly awesome 001er.

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Indiana 266 » Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:47 pm

Rrod(red rings of death) it is an intercooler problem, I have had 1 Xbox die on me, but it didn't have the rrod. On the same note I have had the rrod but the Xbox came back fine. Right now we have a fan behind the Xbox so that we never get the rrod again. I believe the new Xbox 360(the one with kinect) has this fixed, as I have seen pictures of them, and they have a huge fan.
Yes buying Xbox live is annoying, you will always have silver though(free) but silver stinks because you can't play online with it.
Overall Xbox live is better, but you pay for it.
Personnally I like Microsoft better than sony, but I dont have any prejuduce towards either of them, I will probably buy a PS3 later anyway.
All in all, pro's and con's for both.
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Deedasmi
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 10:47 pm
Location: At my computer (like always)

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Deedasmi » Thu Oct 07, 2010 5:39 pm

xbox's are very stable now. There is very few problems, and there is a 3 year warranty on RROD's. Xbox live typically has faster servers then other games, and more, better games in my opinion. I bought me own Xbox last year, and I've had a lot of fun with it.

User avatar
Dunce
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:33 am
Location: Arkansas, USA

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Dunce » Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:15 pm

I agree with Deed's. I have had the newest model for a year or so, playing it at least 4-6 hours at a time when I play it, even left it on all night while training a skill in Oblivion, and its running fine.

I think the only downfall is you have to play to play online. Other than that, you can still buy DLC and browse through xbox live arcade games with Silver Membership.
Image

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Indiana 266 » Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:17 pm

I wonder how much the new ones are...
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
2cool4me4
001 Subscriber
 
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 2:08 pm

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby 2cool4me4 » Thu Oct 07, 2010 9:47 pm

Around $250. :(
I can't afford that or the PS3.
Once you have mastered the :usevalue:, you are a truly awesome 001er.

User avatar
Dunce
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:33 am
Location: Arkansas, USA

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Dunce » Thu Oct 07, 2010 9:53 pm

Wait, I forgot about the new slim, I have the newest model version of the not slim one. I got mine for 200$ a couple years ago, so they should be a little cheaper brand new.
Image

User avatar
Deedasmi
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 10:47 pm
Location: At my computer (like always)

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Deedasmi » Thu Oct 07, 2010 10:25 pm

I've left my 360 on numerous nights, becuase I forgot about it lol.

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Indiana 266 » Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:12 pm

That's awesome, the arcade ones rrod in like 5hrs or something like that, not very long, absolutly cannot leave them on all night.(I have left my PS2 on all night and it was fine)(I left my Wii on for 4 days straight and it was still ice cold :D )
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Deedasmi
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 10:47 pm
Location: At my computer (like always)

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Deedasmi » Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:15 pm

the old arcades. The ones with the new jasper chip are very stable.

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Indiana 266 » Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:42 pm

Yeah, now we have an elite. It's a little better.
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Dunce
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:33 am
Location: Arkansas, USA

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Dunce » Fri Oct 08, 2010 1:29 am

Indiana 266 wrote:That's awesome, the arcade ones rrod in like 5hrs or something like that, not very long, absolutly cannot leave them on all night.(I have left my PS2 on all night and it was fine)(I left my Wii on for 4 days straight and it was still ice cold :D )

Not true for the new ones(the one I have is Arcade). Only real difference is if it comes with a hard drive and the hard drive size.

Just the First model and the silver disk tray plate ones are unreliable. The new ones(white matching disk tray plate ones) are good to go.
Image

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Indiana 266 » Fri Oct 08, 2010 1:38 am

That's what I meant, that's what we had. I didn't know if it was the original one though.
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
2cool4me4
001 Subscriber
 
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 2:08 pm

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby 2cool4me4 » Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:25 pm

Looks like I can't get one of these anytime soon. I have to save up for Windows 7 and a subby :D
Once you have mastered the :usevalue:, you are a truly awesome 001er.

User avatar
Zhuge
Insane 001 Forum Member
 
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Wisconsin, United States

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Zhuge » Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:00 pm

No they don't. :P
I left my overheated xbox on for a month straight, actually fixed the rrod; Eventually blew out the video card though. :P
I'd get a new xbox, but there is seriously no way you can survive without getting the $300 250gig hard drive one. 4 gigs is an insult to anyone who actually uses their xbox to play games. :P

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Indiana 266 » Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:04 pm

Yeah I know you can fix rrod'ed Xboxes, I know someone who does that, and we tried to fix ours, but something was broken permanently. :(
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Dunce
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:33 am
Location: Arkansas, USA

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Dunce » Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:09 am

Zhuge wrote:No they don't. :P
I left my overheated xbox on for a month straight, actually fixed the rrod; Eventually blew out the video card though. :P
I'd get a new xbox, but there is seriously no way you can survive without getting the $300 250gig hard drive one. 4 gigs is an insult to anyone who actually uses their xbox to play games. :P

Are you talking about 4gb memory cards? Lol, I bought mine with out a hard drive, and it still isn't full. I eventually had a friend send me one of his 20 gb ones(which in reality is only 14gb, which is stupid.)


But ya, if you buy dlc your going to need a hard drive.
Image

User avatar
Zhuge
Insane 001 Forum Member
 
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Wisconsin, United States

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Zhuge » Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:41 am

They make 20 gigs for the new ones? Why the hell didn't I see this!? :o
Yeah, I have over 4 gigs worth of DLC right now, on my "20" gig one. :P

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Indiana 266 » Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:10 pm

I just heard that they make 4 gig ones(actual HD's) for the new arcades..... Wow, what can you fit on that!(other that saved games)
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Dunce
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:33 am
Location: Arkansas, USA

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Dunce » Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:52 pm

Zhuge wrote:They make 20 gigs for the new ones? Why the hell didn't I see this!? :o
Yeah, I have over 4 gigs worth of DLC right now, on my "20" gig one. :P

Oh no, not the new ones. I have the newest model of the white one, the arcade version didn't come with a hard drive. There is 20gb, 60gb, and 120gb hard drives from the white model I think.

Only heard of 250gb for the slim.
Image

User avatar
Zhuge
Insane 001 Forum Member
 
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Wisconsin, United States

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Zhuge » Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:27 am

Yeah, that's the one I want to get. If they had 20 on the slim, I'd get it for sure. :|

User avatar
Darkvoid
Distinguished 001 Member
 
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:20 am
Location: England, UK. My computer counts too.

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Darkvoid » Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:51 am

I got a 120GB Elite Xbox 360, but for some reason when I first bought it, it only had 105GB. That's 15GB I'm missing! :lol:

So, yesterday I turned on my Xbox only to discover three flashing red lights. I instantly thought that my 360 had the Red Rings, and that I'll have to wait ages to get it repaired.
Thankfully, I checked on the internet, and some instructions told me to isolate all plugs/cables from the Xbox, plug it in again and try it again. It works, lol.
My game Oncoming Storm should've been released about 2 years ago. Am working on it for about an hour a day, and plan to be finished soon (this is about the 6th time it's been delayed).

User avatar
2cool4me4
001 Subscriber
 
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 2:08 pm

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby 2cool4me4 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 8:49 am

So... what was it then?
[offtopic] Hey, my ps2 still works! And it's been through a fire![/offtopic]
Once you have mastered the :usevalue:, you are a truly awesome 001er.

User avatar
Redemption
Ultimate 001 Member
 
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:08 am

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Redemption » Sun Oct 24, 2010 10:29 am

*ARGH!*
Get a PS3!
Sooooooooooooooo much better!
Graphics, Memory, Plays Blu-ray, FREE internet, wi-fi enabled, 1% fail rate.
Xbox 360 50% Failrate.

User avatar
Ovoon
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: I'm at the place

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Ovoon » Sun Oct 24, 2010 10:53 am

Deedasmi wrote:xbox's are very stable now. There is very few problems, and there is a 3 year warranty on RROD's. Xbox live typically has faster servers then other games, and more, better games in my opinion. I bought me own Xbox last year, and I've had a lot of fun with it.

Hah yea right. And the warrantees aren't long enough. I sold mine for 110 before it broke because the disk drive was starting to break down. I opened the thing up and fixed it. And I can safely say that the Xbox 360 is the biggest trash heap I have ever seen hardware wise. Microsoft can't make any good hardware for some reason.
DOOF

User avatar
2cool4me4
001 Subscriber
 
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 2:08 pm

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby 2cool4me4 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 10:59 am

That's why you don't see many MPC's in my school anymore.
Once you have mastered the :usevalue:, you are a truly awesome 001er.

User avatar
Zhuge
Insane 001 Forum Member
 
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Wisconsin, United States

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby Zhuge » Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:48 pm

Ovoon wrote:
Deedasmi wrote:xbox's are very stable now. There is very few problems, and there is a 3 year warranty on RROD's. Xbox live typically has faster servers then other games, and more, better games in my opinion. I bought me own Xbox last year, and I've had a lot of fun with it.

Hah yea right. And the warrantees aren't long enough. I sold mine for 110 before it broke because the disk drive was starting to break down. I opened the thing up and fixed it. And I can safely say that the Xbox 360 is the biggest trash heap I have ever seen hardware wise. Microsoft can't make any good hardware for some reason.

"Fixing everyone's <thing> will cost us 0.03 cents per unit! In the long term, that's almost ten million dollars!"
Seriously though, if I didn't already have these xbox games (or if I could sell them all back for a decent price), I'd get a PS3.
I get to play DW5 again, and get a product that is damn near assured to work. :P
Erm, anyway... Unhijacked.

User avatar
2cool4me4
001 Subscriber
 
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 2:08 pm

Re: Xbox 360?

Postby 2cool4me4 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 4:28 pm

Bullet9780 wrote:Xbox 360 50% Failrate.


You'd think that they'd try to fix that.
Once you have mastered the :usevalue:, you are a truly awesome 001er.

User avatar
Deedasmi
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 10:47 pm
Location: At my computer (like always)

Re: Xbox 360 topic!

Postby Deedasmi » Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:07 pm

It has been, as I said the newish Jasper chips fixed it.

User avatar
2cool4me4
001 Subscriber
 
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 2:08 pm

Re: Xbox 360 topic!

Postby 2cool4me4 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:13 pm

Ah.
Once you have mastered the :usevalue:, you are a truly awesome 001er.


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users