Lighting:Sprite-Based Actors Placed After Model-Based Actors

Have any questions or problems in making your game, subscribing and/or using our software? Post here.
Forum rules
Make sure you are using the newest version. This can be downloaded at the top of the site via the "downloads" link.

Use a very good subject. "Problem" or "Help" are unacceptable titles.

Use the search feature before posting a question, as the answer is probably already here.

Subscript out of range error 9: This is a generic error, and we'll need way more information than that to figure out the problem. If you get this, strongly consider following the instructions of submitting your project through the Submit Bug feature within the editor.
User avatar
Kilatorian
001 Support
 
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2014 12:11 am
Location: Planet Earth

Lighting:Sprite-Based Actors Placed After Model-Based Actors

Postby Kilatorian » Wed Jul 06, 2016 7:16 pm

After placing a actor with it's body set as a model, every 2D Sprite actor placed afterward has lighting issues. The 2d actor appears to take on the lightness of the the last 3d actor placed instead of the sun. Furthermore, If all 3D actors are deleted then the 2D sprites that were darkened will become correctly lit again. 2d actors placed before the 3d actor remain unaffected.

The bushes in this photo are my example, left bush is normal, then I placed the chest and another bush which became darker, then I placed my own door which imported much darker (I know that's some sort of export issue) And then the sprite I placed after that is much darker.
lightingissue.png

User avatar
Mike
001 Co-Founder
 
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Lighting:Sprite-Based Actors Placed After Model-Based Ac

Postby Mike » Wed Jul 06, 2016 7:17 pm

Just send over a bug report and I'll take a look :). Try to isolate it down to as little tiles as possible if you can in a small test level.

User avatar
Kilatorian
001 Support
 
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2014 12:11 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: Lighting:Sprite-Based Actors Placed After Model-Based Ac

Postby Kilatorian » Wed Jul 06, 2016 7:51 pm

Alright it's sending, I should have just loaded this into a smaller template, I used rpg 3D so it's taking a minute to upload :P

User avatar
Mike
001 Co-Founder
 
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Lighting:Sprite-Based Actors Placed After Model-Based Ac

Postby Mike » Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:19 pm

If you feel like it, you can send it as part of a smaller template. Would make my testing even easier :D! No big deal either way.

EDIT: Fixed for next version. Really appreciate the simple test project :)!

User avatar
SBG
001 Subscriber
 
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:37 pm
Location: merca

Re: Lighting:Sprite-Based Actors Placed After Model-Based Ac

Postby SBG » Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:59 pm

Awesome! This has been a bit of an issue for me as well. I've had some good ideas about mixing models with images, like windows that can change color but leave the frame color in tact, or Oblivion style trees with poly trunks and billboard leaves, but the bug was preventing it from looking normal.

Has anybody else ran into the bug where placing models will randomly change the color of some 2D sprites randomly? I don't mean darkening it, I mean turning red or blue. I can't reproduce it. It seems to happen randomly to random 2D sprites when specific 3D models are placed. If I can recreate it, I'll make a bug report. Just wondering if anybody else has experienced this.

User avatar
Mike
001 Co-Founder
 
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Lighting:Sprite-Based Actors Placed After Model-Based Ac

Postby Mike » Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:57 pm

Yes, it's all related. Why didn't you mention this before :P?

User avatar
SBG
001 Subscriber
 
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:37 pm
Location: merca

Re: Lighting:Sprite-Based Actors Placed After Model-Based Ac

Postby SBG » Fri Jul 15, 2016 10:55 pm

I'm just a busy guy with a lot on my plate most of the time. I have to prioritize stuff like that to be honest. I like to report bugs if I can narrow down what the issue is, or if they are really getting in the way of progress. Half the time I report bugs and it just ends up being my fault anyway :-P

User avatar
Mike
001 Co-Founder
 
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Lighting:Sprite-Based Actors Placed After Model-Based Ac

Postby Mike » Sat Jul 16, 2016 8:41 am

Haha, understandable. But never hesitate to send bug report projects for reproducible issues. We don't mind letting the user know if it's their fault or if it's now fixed for everyone :).


Return to Technical Support Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron