Simple Networking Problem (Connected but no data)

Have any questions or problems in making your game, subscribing and/or using our software? Post here.
Forum rules
Make sure you are using the newest version. This can be downloaded at the top of the site via the "downloads" link.

Use a very good subject. "Problem" or "Help" are unacceptable titles.

Use the search feature before posting a question, as the answer is probably already here.

Subscript out of range error 9: This is a generic error, and we'll need way more information than that to figure out the problem. If you get this, strongly consider following the instructions of submitting your project through the Submit Bug feature within the editor.
User avatar
Gouanaco
Junior Member
 
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 1:44 am
Location: Australia

Simple Networking Problem (Connected but no data)

Postby Gouanaco » Wed May 24, 2017 2:20 am

Hello everyone,

I have recently picked up 001 Engine via steam for prototyping small projects. Ive been using 001 Engine for free on and off for years and I am familiar with the general layout of most things. However I am in no way familiar with the multiplayer and networking aspects of this software.

I am currently trying to set up a prototype space so i can test some multiplayer gameplay. I am using the 3D RPG Template and have a small map with various small objects placed. I am trying to connect a client to the server (both run on the same pc), which has worked for me so far. I am able to establish a supposed connection. However... I cannot transmit the positions of the client to the server to be sent to a new actor (dummy npc).

I am trying to send a network message constantly with a while timer on the player actor. That sends a message to the server that modifies a table with the information of the players actor position.
However once both the client and server are connected, the server sees an actor in the corner (because the default values are 0,0,0) and the client sees nothing. (Which is expected since i haven't set up anything for the client to receive, but the server should see the positioning of the clients actor)

My current setup is as follows:
Pressing , Key starts a server.
Spoiler: show

Pressing . Key connects to a local server (127.0.0.1)
Spoiler: show


System Trigger -> Connection Received
Spoiler: show


System Trigger -> Connection Lost
Spoiler: show


Network message: (X Y Z Parameters are respective of there values ie: X = X)
Spoiler: show
Image

x y z variables i was using for debugging
Spoiler: show


I have tried using While / Timer (Internet.IsConnected) on player actor.
Spoiler: show


Table that I have been trying to use for player positions
Spoiler: show
Image


Thank you to anyone who can help in anyway. I would also like to apologize in advanced for any oversights or things I may have missed when attempting this problem.

User avatar
Mr.Numbers
001 Support
 
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:50 am
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: Simple Networking Problem (Connected but no data)

Postby Mr.Numbers » Fri May 26, 2017 3:31 am

Are you clicking the right debugger window? When you run 2 instances, it also runs two debuggers (They are layered ontop of each other). To ensure you are clicking the right one, click the server window then which ever debugging window comes into focus is the server debugging window.
Image
I AM THE ALL MIGHTY SCRIPTING MASTER
Please do not PM me with Engine 001 related questions, rather post on the forums. ;)


Return to Technical Support Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron