Search error

General discussion relating to everything except 001.
Forum rules
Please do not post questions concerning the 001 software in this forum.
User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Search error

Postby Indiana 266 » Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:16 pm

Does anyone else get the "Sorry you cannot use the search at this time"...What is this caused by?(just tried it now)
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Zhuge
Insane 001 Forum Member
 
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Wisconsin, United States

Re: Site Enhancements

Postby Zhuge » Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:46 pm

I was pretty sure that's only when you're not logged in. Search traffic filter, I think...

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Site Enhancements

Postby Indiana 266 » Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:40 pm

Zhuge wrote:I was pretty sure that's only when you're not logged in. Search traffic filter, I think...

I was logged in.
I figured it said site enhancments so I figured I could post it.
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Zhuge
Insane 001 Forum Member
 
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Wisconsin, United States

Re: Site Enhancements

Postby Zhuge » Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:09 pm

I wouldn't worry about it much, unless it happens every time you search. Most forums have that for as said, flood control.

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Site Enhancements

Postby Indiana 266 » Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:01 pm

Almost everytime I use search then turn the pages of the search.
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
civilwarrock
001 Enthusiast
 
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:16 pm

Re: Search error

Postby civilwarrock » Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:54 pm

I used it recently and i think i was not logged in. Maybe the filter is filtering out members who are loged on :lol: But i really doubt that :lol:

User avatar
Mike
001 Co-Founder
 
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Search error

Postby Mike » Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:20 am

Yeah, seems if you are a Guest, you have to wait 30 seconds between the last Guest who did a search.

However, if you're logged in, you don't have to wait in line.

User avatar
civilwarrock
001 Enthusiast
 
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:16 pm

Re: Search error

Postby civilwarrock » Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:44 am

Thats what i have noticed too :lol:

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Search error

Postby Indiana 266 » Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:50 am

I don't know why it doesn't work that way for me.. :(
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Dunce
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:33 am
Location: Arkansas, USA

Re: Search error

Postby Dunce » Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:05 am

Mike wrote:Yeah, seems if you are a Guest, you have to wait 30 seconds between the last Guest who did a search.

However, if you're logged in, you don't have to wait in line.

Maybe every few searches, have a message ask if they are tired of waiting, and would like to sign up for a free forum account.

I doubt we have that many people searching to slow things down tho atm.
Image

User avatar
civilwarrock
001 Enthusiast
 
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:16 pm

Re: Search error

Postby civilwarrock » Thu Oct 14, 2010 9:22 am

I agree with dunce, I have made many sites before with search options like this and i have never had it speed up or slow down. But maybe this one is different. :lol:

User avatar
Mike
001 Co-Founder
 
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Search error

Postby Mike » Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:35 am

Search is intensive on this site due to the number of posts and stuff. I don't really think it matters, but the main reason behind it is to avoid bots doing searches to bring down the site.

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Search error

Postby Indiana 266 » Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:07 pm

After multiple tests the conclusion is:
I searched for duh and it was working fine I could turn pages at a whim,
then I searched for Mike and it errored once then it started working again.
:/ :?

It seems it is only when I turn to page 2 sometimes, I'm only slightly worried because it seems it is only me getting this error, other than that, I don't use search too often so I guess it doesn't matter.
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Mike
001 Co-Founder
 
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Search error

Postby Mike » Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:14 pm

There's a 10 second limit for users too, but it's a per-user basis. That is, you personally have to wait 10 seconds before going to the next page, I suppose.

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Search error

Postby Indiana 266 » Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:16 pm

But it only happens when I go to page 2.
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Mike
001 Co-Founder
 
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Search error

Postby Mike » Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:20 pm

Wait 10 seconds before going to page 2, for example.


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users