RTS game in Engine 001, possible?

Have any questions or problems in making your game, subscribing and/or using our software? Post here.
Forum rules
Make sure you are using the newest version. This can be downloaded at the top of the site via the "downloads" link.

Use a very good subject. "Problem" or "Help" are unacceptable titles.

Use the search feature before posting a question, as the answer is probably already here.

Subscript out of range error 9: This is a generic error, and we'll need way more information than that to figure out the problem. If you get this, strongly consider following the instructions of submitting your project through the Submit Bug feature within the editor.
User avatar
RipGreamer
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:59 am
Location: Magellan's last destination (Lapu-Lapu City, Philippines)

RTS game in Engine 001, possible?

Postby RipGreamer » Wed May 04, 2011 9:52 am

Hey guys! I am a new user and I'm just wondering if it is possible to make an RTS game with this engine. If it is, are there any tips? BTW, I'm in the process of finalizing my own game... so watch out for that. Thanks!
PROJECT IN PROGRESS:
Image
I LOVE HORROR GAMES!!!
Image
Image
Image
FAVE QUOTE: "hard work beats talent when talent refuses to work hard."

User avatar
Tabula Rasa
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 11:36 pm
Location: A place between mind and matter.

Re: RTS game in Engine 001, possible?

Postby Tabula Rasa » Wed May 04, 2011 1:00 pm

Turned based strategy is possible, I believe. But you'll have ot either subscribe or wait until mouse support to come out to actually make this feasible.
Image

User avatar
SBG
001 Subscriber
 
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:37 pm
Location: merca

Re: RTS game in Engine 001, possible?

Postby SBG » Wed May 04, 2011 3:38 pm

You could use a charcter as a cursor and move it with the keyboard, but mouse would be way better.

It's definitely possible, but there's so many different things to do and so many different ways to do them that it would be best to plan out everything that you want in the game before starting on it, so you can ask more specific questions when you need help rather than 'how do I make an RTS'.

User avatar
RipGreamer
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:59 am
Location: Magellan's last destination (Lapu-Lapu City, Philippines)

Re: RTS game in Engine 001, possible?

Postby RipGreamer » Thu May 05, 2011 8:35 am

Yeah, I figured that out using a character as a cursor but I was hoping a complete mouse control :lol: Anyway, thanks for answering guys, I'll just wait for the future of this promising engine!
PROJECT IN PROGRESS:
Image
I LOVE HORROR GAMES!!!
Image
Image
Image
FAVE QUOTE: "hard work beats talent when talent refuses to work hard."

User avatar
Addictproduce
001 Enthusiast
 
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:18 pm

Re: RTS game in Engine 001, possible?

Postby Addictproduce » Thu May 05, 2011 9:25 am

RipGreamer wrote:Yeah, I figured that out using a character as a cursor but I was hoping a complete mouse control :lol: Anyway, thanks for answering guys, I'll just wait for the future of this promising engine!

why not just allow control VIA the keyboard? :)
I dont mean to be annoying or anything ;)
just call me addict

User avatar
Tabula Rasa
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 11:36 pm
Location: A place between mind and matter.

Re: RTS game in Engine 001, possible?

Postby Tabula Rasa » Thu May 05, 2011 10:44 am

Because it's a huge pain.

Can you imagine playing an actual RTS with no mouse control?
PAIN IN THE BOOTY.
Image

User avatar
Mike
001 Co-Founder
 
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: RTS game in Engine 001, possible?

Postby Mike » Thu May 05, 2011 11:16 am

Stracraft 1 on Nintendo 64 - wasn't too bad.

User avatar
RipGreamer
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:59 am
Location: Magellan's last destination (Lapu-Lapu City, Philippines)

Re: RTS game in Engine 001, possible?

Postby RipGreamer » Fri May 06, 2011 8:09 am

Yeah, it's ok but it's not the same thing... :|
PROJECT IN PROGRESS:
Image
I LOVE HORROR GAMES!!!
Image
Image
Image
FAVE QUOTE: "hard work beats talent when talent refuses to work hard."

User avatar
Scaveleon
001 Translator
 
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: Scandinavia

Re: RTS game in Engine 001, possible?

Postby Scaveleon » Fri May 06, 2011 8:19 am

Possible, yes.

A RTS game was developed with Engine001 before, but it never got released.
MIV wrote:It's definitely not The Epic Game of Loladin as the screenshot said.
Nor is it The Epic Game of Loladin Happy Face.

SoundCloud
Project blog

User avatar
Indiana 266
001 Forum Master
 
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: RTS game in Engine 001, possible?

Postby Indiana 266 » Fri May 06, 2011 11:31 am

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
RipGreamer
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:59 am
Location: Magellan's last destination (Lapu-Lapu City, Philippines)

Re: RTS game in Engine 001, possible?

Postby RipGreamer » Sat May 07, 2011 10:01 am

Scaveleon wrote:Possible, yes.

A RTS game was developed with Engine001 before, but [url=http://www.engine001.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=11059]it[/url] never got released.

It looks badass and promising but why not release it? I should have known game-making 2 years ago... :( Maybe (just maybe), I would have my own game today.


Indiana 266 wrote:You never mentioned the other one eh? http://www.engine001.com/games/Age+of+Empires+Civilization_1287.htm

Thanks for your recommendation... I'll give it a try for sure! ;)
Last edited by RipGreamer on Sat May 07, 2011 10:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Automatically merged double post.
PROJECT IN PROGRESS:
Image
I LOVE HORROR GAMES!!!
Image
Image
Image
FAVE QUOTE: "hard work beats talent when talent refuses to work hard."


Return to Technical Support Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users